Shakmaty Bereolos - The Official Chess Site of Peter Bereolos

7/31/08 - July 2008 FIDE Rating List

The FIDE rating list for July once again created controversy. Vishy Anand (2798) kept the top spot, but the loss of a few points in the Bundesliga dropped him below 2800. It looked like #6 Magnus Carlsen (2775) would be moving into the second spot after his big win at the Aerosvit tournament in Foros. However, this time FIDE decided to follow its rules and wait to rate this tournament until the next period. You'll recall last year that FIDE rated Linares early, in conflict with its rules, when Anand moved to the top of the list for the first time. Alexander Morozevich (2788) reached both his highest rating and his highest position in the list with a big win in Sarajevo. Vladimir Kramnik (2788) was inactive, so falls in behind Morozevich based on number of games played. Vassily Ivanchuk (2781) was superb in Sofia winnning the M-Tel Masters, and also scored +4 in the Russian team championship. #5 Veselin Topalov (2777) couldn't keep pace with Ivanchuk in Sofia, but still picked up 10 points. That completes the current club 2750, but the rest of the top 10 #7 Radjabov (2744), #8 Mamedyarov (2742), #9 Shirov (2741) and #10 Leko (2741) are all just outside the gates.

Most of the US players were quite active in this period, but 3 of the top 4, did not participate in the US Championship. Gata Kamsky (2723) keeps the top spot, while Hikaru Nakamura (2697) continues to chip away. Alexander Onischuk (2670) was runner up in the US Championship and stay comfortably in third. Yasser Seirawan (2634) played a couple of Dutch League games to stay active and just inside the world top 100. The big gainer for the US was the new US Champion Yuri Shulman (2623). The newest member of the Tennessee Tempo, GM Jaan Ehlvest (2603) is 9th.

My own rating was unchanged at 2314 with no games in the rating period. Standing still cost me 9 positions to #122 on the US list. The rest of the 2008 Tempo lineup check in as follows: #84 Burnett (2369), #120 Andrews (2315), #227 McCarthy (2234), #246 Bick (2225), #401 Wheeler (2137), and #406 Larson (2135)